HomeWorld NewsSpaceX to conduct 'humanity's first planetary defence check'...

SpaceX to conduct ‘humanity’s first planetary defence check’…

California: SpaceX is planning to conduct humanity’s first planetary defence check to redirect an asteroid via Falcon 9’s launch of NASA’s Double Asteroid Redirection Take a look at (DART) mission on Tuesday (native time).

“DART is humanity’s first planetary defence test mission to see if intentionally crashing a spacecraft into an asteroid is an effective way to change its course, should an Earth-threatening asteroid be discovered in the future,” learn an announcement by SpaceX.

 

This would be the third flight for this Falcon 9’s first stage booster, which beforehand supported the launch of Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich and a Starlink mission. Following stage separation, Falcon 9’s first stage will land on the Of Course I Nonetheless Love You droneship, which will likely be positioned within the Pacific Ocean, it stated.

The instantaneous launch window is at 10:21 pm PST (6:21 UTC on November 24), and a backup alternative is offered on Wednesday, November 24 at 10:20 pm PST (6:20 UTC on November 25), added the assertion.

- Advertisment -

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.