HomeSportShardul Thakur replaces Axar Patel in India's major squad for...

Shardul Thakur replaces Axar Patel in India’s major squad for…

New Delhi: Quick bowling all-rounder Shardul Thakur on Wednesday changed Axar Patel in India’s squad for the T20 World Cup to be held within the UAE and Oman from October 17.

The 29-year-old Thakur has impressed along with his 18 wickets within the ongoing IPL for Chennai Tremendous Kings. With this, India accomplished the announcement of its remaining squad for the marquee event. Groups are allowed time until October 15 to finalise modifications.


“The All-India Senior Selection Committee after a discussion with the team management has added Shardul Thakur to the main squad. All-rounder Axar Patel, who was part of the 15-member squad will now be on the list of stand-by players,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah mentioned in a press release.

With tempo all-rounder Hardik Pandya not bowling through the IPL due to health points, the selectors needed a canopy for him. The Mumbai Indians star’s workload administration is a significant concern for the staff administration.

“The selectors felt that they were one pacer short and also with Hardik Pandya not bowling, they needed an all-rounder in the main squad,” a supply near the choice committee informed PTI.


“Axar remains in stand by and if Ravindra Jadeja gets injured, he will again be back in main team. Till Jaddu (Jadeja) plays, Axar won’t be required.”

As reported by PTI, the selectors additionally included Harshal Patel among the many web bowlers for the Indian staff.

“The following cricketers will join the team bubble in Dubai and assist Team India in their preparations: Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed and K. Gowtham,” the assertion mentioned.

Among the many stand-by gamers, Railways leg-spinner Karn Sharma, who’s a part of the CSK proper now, was a shock inclusion.


Thought-about a detailed confidante of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who has been roped in as mentor of the nationwide aspect for the World Cup, Sharma is retained yr after yr by CSK with out enjoying too many matches as it’s believed that he has been the franchise’s “Lucky Mascot”

Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal couldn’t discover a place regardless of a formidable IPL with Royal Challengers Bangalore. He claimed 18 wickets in 15 matches.

India will open their marketing campaign on October 24 in opposition to Pakistan.

India’s squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami.


Stand-by gamers: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel.

- Advertisment -

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.