HomeWorld NewsJournalists from Philippines, Russia given Nobel Peace Prize

Journalists from Philippines, Russia given Nobel Peace Prize

Oslo: The 2021 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded Friday to journalists Maria Ressa of the Philippines and Dmitry Muratov of Russia.

They have been citing for his or her battle for freedom of expression.


The winners have been introduced Friday by Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

“Free, impartial and fact-based journalism serves to guard in opposition to abuse of energy, lies and conflict propaganda,” stated Reiss-Andersen.

“With out freedom of expression and freedom of the press, will probably be troublesome to efficiently promote fraternity between nations, disarmament and a greater world order to achieve our time.”

Ressa in 2012 co-founded Rappler, a information web site that has centered “important consideration on the (President Rodrigo) Duterte regime’s controversial, murderous anti-drug marketing campaign,” the Nobel committee stated.


She and Rappler “have additionally documented how social media is getting used to unfold faux information, harass opponents and manipulate public discourse.”

Muratov was one of many founders of the impartial Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta in 1993.

“Novaya Gazeta is essentially the most impartial newspaper in Russia at this time, with a essentially important perspective in direction of energy,” the Nobel committee stated.

“The newspaper’s fact-based journalism {and professional} integrity have made it an vital supply of knowledge on censurable features of Russian society hardly ever talked about by different media,” it added.


Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov congratulated Muratov on profitable the prize, hailing him as a “gifted and courageous” individual.

“We will congratulate Dmitry Muratov — he has persistently labored in accordance together with his beliefs, he has adhered to his beliefs, he is gifted and courageous. It is a excessive appraisal and we congratulate him,” Peskov stated in a convention name with reporters after the prize was introduced.

The distinguished award is accompanied by a gold medal and 10 million Swedish kronor (over $1.14 million). The prize cash comes from a bequest left by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who died in 1895.


On Monday, the Nobel Committee awarded the prize in physiology or drugs to People David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian for his or her discoveries into how the human physique perceives temperature and contact.

The Nobel Prize in physics was awarded Tuesday to 3 scientists whose work discovered order in seeming dysfunction, serving to to clarify and predict advanced forces of nature, together with increasing our understanding of local weather change.

Benjamin Checklist and David W.C. MacMillan have been named as laureates of the Nobel Prize for chemistry Wednesday for locating a neater and environmentally cleaner technique to construct molecules that can be utilized to make compounds, together with medicines and pesticides.


The Nobel Prize for literature was awarded Thursday to U.Okay.-based Tanzanian author Abdulrazak Gurnah, who was acknowledged for his “uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the results of colonialism and the destiny of the refugee.”

Nonetheless to return Monday is the prize for excellent work within the subject economics.

- Advertisment -

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.